here’s to the new year

Well, I figured that I would tell you all about Daniel when I made an entry about how we met and all that jazz, but something’s come up that’s a pretty big deal to me and I can’t really talk about it without explaining some things about him.

Daniel is in the Army. 82nd Airborne Infantry Division stationed at Fort Bragg in Fayetteville, North Carolina. He’s been in for three years, has a year left on this contract and is still trying to decide if he wants to re-enlist. Back in June he was injured on his 30th jump and has a profile on his ankle that won’t allow him to jump. He’s doing physical therapy for it, but once it’s healed he’d be a fool to jump again. So he’s between getting out or re-classing when he re-ups.

But back to my point. So about three days ago I was talking to Daniel and he told me that there’s a 90% chance that he’s deploying at the end of January. The night he told me I was surprisingly chill about it. Everything didn’t hit me until the next morning. Let me tell you how much work sucked that day. But since I’ve had a few days to sit on it, I’ve come to terms with it. Yeah, it’s gonna suck, but it’s something he’s gotta do. It’s his job.

The worst part about it is that I was so close to having him around every day. If he gets orders, I’m going to have to wait six to nine months for that to happen. And I thought going a month or so was hard. HA!

But because he’ll be leaving at the end of January if he does get orders, he wants me to come down and spend his last few weeks stateside with him. I’m trying my hardest to make this happen. I’ll take all the time I get to spend with him before he leaves. And who knows, when I come back home I might have ever more to talk about. I might have to find something borrowed and something blue along with my something old and something new…

Leave a Reply

