as we sleep we walk

Well, there’s been no news since my last entry about his deployment. Actually, that’s a lie. There’s been a bit of news, but nothing that says he’s going. This past Friday, an article was released on http://www.stripes.com about 1,000 soldiers from the 82nd Airborne Division being sent to Iraq. You can read the aricle here. I forget if there’s three or four battalion’s in the 82nd… BUT all that matters is that 1P (1st battalion) is already over there. So that’s about six to seven hundred guys which means they only need to send three or four hundred more.

They were saying that the guys would know who was going before block leave, but that didn’t happen. Instead they get to enjoy their Christmas’ wondering if they’ll be leaving again almost as soon as they get back. I make this sound way more dramatic than it probably really is but oh well. I’m a woman. I’m good at drama despite hating it.

But I digress. So there’s a chance that Daniel won’t be going. Though he thinks it’ll come down to them pulling him aside and asking if he’s good to go. To which he’ll reply “roger that” or what the fuck ever you tell your superior in a situation like that. I can’t be upset with him for wanting to go over there. He doesn’t want some newbie to mess up and not come home, which I totally respect. I honestly can’t say I wouldn’t want the same thing if the situation were flipped.

It just sucks.

But, the good news is that I’m eight days away from making the drive down to Greenbrier, Arkansas to spend New Year’s Eve with him and his family.

I.

Cannot.

Wait.

The month between Thanksgiving and now has gone surprisingly quick. I just hope that it still feels that way even though my work week will be slowing down because of Christmas. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

