oy vey, where did the time go?

It’s been six days since I last updated this thing and it seriously feels like yesterday. I’m starting to think that this daily blogging thing was a bit much to take on given the start to my year, but I’m not giving up yet! It might not be daily for the first little bit of 2015, but it’ll get there I’m sure. Especially when there are more thanks about which to talk. Right now, it’s a whole bunch of planning and waiting for things to start rolling.

Just about the biggest thing to report on is that a date has been picked. Monday next week, I’ll be driving down to Fayetteville, North Carolina with my parents and then the following Tuesday, Daniel and I will be getting married. It’s nothing huge and really we just expected to be doing it ourselves (plus the two witnesses that have to sign as well), but it seems like both our families (or at least our parents) will be there as well as some of the guys from Daniel’s unit. I’m not nearly as nervous as I expected to be… but I am more nervous than I was when we decided to do it the 20th. Which tells me that the closer we get to the date, the more my nerves will grow.

Getting married means that I’ll be moving back to North Carolina soon. I’m hoping for mid-February at the latest. We still haven’t decided if we want on-post or off-post housing, which is one of the biggest things that will decide when I move. The next biggest is transferring my job with Target, but that’s a matter of getting a hold of their Human Resources person. Something I’ve been trying to do for the past couple of days without success. I’ll go into Target while I’m down there if I have to. I won’t be happy about it, but I will.

However, my biggest focus is trying to come to a decision about where we’re living. I’ve weighed the pros and cons of each and honestly feel like, for the time being, on-post is best. With him looking to re-class and possibly be given a new duty station, entering into a lease we’ll just end up breaking doesn’t seem very smart. Though he then posed the question of whether or not post housing is like entering into a civilian rental lease. Of course I have no idea what the answer to that question is but still.

I’m a pretty easy going person. So long as he’s there I don’t care where we live and I’m fairly certain he feels the same way… which means this decision could be a stalemate till it’s too late. So I have a feeling I’m going to need to prod this along and push him a bit with it. Or just come straight out and make the decision. Either way, there’s a bit more research to be done I believe.

But before I get into that… I’m on the hunt for my birth certificate. I know it’s around here somewhere because I got a new one when I went to talk to an Air Force recruiter earlier last year. I just… don’t know where it went :/

2 thoughts on “oy vey, where did the time go?

  1. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! FYI – with military orders, you can break a lease with no penalty. Don’t let the uncertainty of the Army possibly PCSing you prevent you from living off-post. 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you! I had no idea and hasn’t really gotten into researching it. I was fairly certain it could be broken without penalty but wasn’t positive on it. and thank you for the congrats as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

