let’s play a game

One of my favorite games to play is the game of semantics. It’s not an official game, but I play it like a pro. For those of you who aren’t so into that game and don’t know what the meaning is… here’s the long definition:

"the branch of linguistics and logic concerned with meaning. There are a number of branches and subbranches of semantics, including formal semantics, which studies the logical aspects of meaning, such as sense, reference, implication, and logical form, lexical semantics, which studies word meanings and word relations, and conceptual semantics, which studies the cognitive structure of meaning."

The smaller definition is simply “the meaning of a word, phrase, sentence, or text”. So basically… I pay very close attention to the words you say and how you use them. It can be a real drag sometimes, because not a lot of people pay attention to what they say. They use a word that closely means what they want to say and leave it at that. It drives me insane, because as a person who pays veryveryvery close attention to the words she uses… I tend to read too deeply into what those people say. I’ve gotten better about it in recent years, but there are still times that I find myself picking apart someone else’s sentences, trying to figure out exactly what they meant by what they said.

It’s also a bit of a drag when I can’t find a word to properly describe what I’m trying to say. An example of this would be tonight while I was texting Daniel. We were talking about what he was going to eat for dinner and at one point I said “I just can’t wait to cook dinner with you. In our place. As your wife. Oh my God, I’m going to be your wife in like a week”, to which he responded “yes you are, love”.

It was in that moment that I got this indescribable feeling. Even after spending a collective of an hour trying to find the right word, I can’t. The closest I can come to is “eager” and even then that doesn’t feel right. It describes it, but it’s not enough. It doesn’t put the emphasis behind my feelings that I want. And, to me, it implies impatience which is something I’m not feeling. While I can’t wait for next Tuesday to get here, I know I have to and I’m okay with this fact. Now, that feeling might change the closer to the 20th we get, but I digress.

To me… words are everything. As a writer, it’s imperative to me that I organize my thoughts precisely to get my point across. To make sure you understand exactly what I mean. It’s amusing actually how important words are to me because I’m also a believer in the thought that we give words power. Things like curse words or the not so polite words… we are only offended by them because of what they mean… when we gave them that meaning. So if we don’t pay attention to the meaning, they no longer have power. I might be alone in this thought process, but it’s put me in a happier place in my life. I often get called a b!tch because of my honesty so instead of taking offense to it, I just shrug it off. I know I’m not one and that’s really all that matters.

Okay… I’ve totally lost the point of this entry now. Oops. That happens a lot I guess. I tend to ramble. A lot.

tl;dr version:
Pay attention to what you say and how you say it. You never know if the person you’re talking to is over thinking things like I so often do.

Leave a Reply

