6 More Things Your Recruiter Might Not Tell You About MEPS

I’ve officially had my second go at MEPS and this coming Tuesday I’ll be making another trip up there for a psych consult. The doctor that examined me and asked me a few questions was concerned with the two speeding tickets I got in June of last year (“You’re still speeding even after your big accident,” I believe is what she said). So I get to talk to someone about my, apparent, speeding addiction.

Either way, the things I mentioned in my last post about MEPS still ring true. However, as predicted, I have a few other things to add to it, so here goes nothing.

9) Don’t Sweat the ASVAB.
Seriously, it’s not a pass or fail test. You’re not supposed to get every answer correct. This test is to determine your aptitude for certain fields. For the Air Force, your scores are broken down into four different categories that spell out MAGE. They stand for Mechanical, Administrative, Electronics and General. They’re a combination of the ten different categories that the ASVAB is broken up into and they determine what jobs you are and aren’t qualified for. Obviously, if you have a low score in the Mechanical portion of things, you likely won’t get to be a Maintainer (which is pretty much and Air Force mechanic). Either way, stressing over the test is only going to make you do bad on it which is going to lower your scores and either not qualify you for the branch you want or the job you want. So take a deep breath and just chill. Every question on that test you’re taught in high school, so there won’t be any content that you haven’t learned before.

10) Listen and Pay Attention to Direction.
So after I retook my ASVAB and gave my scratch paper to the proctor to destroy, I swear she told me to go back to the Air Force liaisons office. So I did. I knocked on the closed door and was told to sit down and that someone would be with me shortly. Two hours pass and the liaison I checked in with at 0600 that morning walks by, looks at me and goes “What are you doing here? You’re supposed to be at medical”. Well, I get up and go to medical for my physical exam and it turns out that they had been waiting for me to show up for the two hours I was sitting outside the liaisons office. I have to wonder if I would have gotten through everything any faster if I had just gone to medical first and processed with all the other girls, because waiting for that two hours made me process through on my own and so I got through everything in maybe thirty minutes. Suppose I’ll never know.

11) If The Doctor Says It’s So, Don’t Argue.
When the doctor told me she was referring me to a psych consult for my speeding tickets my first reaction was an eye roll and to think “are you f*cking kidding me?” to myself. It’s been almost ten years since my accident and while I’ve been in two other wrecks since then, neither of them were speed related. I think I’ve gotten maybe a total of three speeding tickets (two of them being last year) since that wreck. That means I’ve gotten one speeding ticket in an eight year period. I tried explaining that to her and why I got the two last year (the first one was total bogus because why the hell would the speed limit on the interstate be 55 just because you’re within city limits?), but halfway through explaining that and looking at her “puh-lease” face, I decided it wasn’t worth it. Just let them schedule the damn consult and get it over with. They’re going to make you do it no matter what anyway. This is likely the first of many hoops you’ll be jumping through if you get in anyway, might as well get some practice in.

12) Make Friends and Impart Wisdom.
Even though I didn’t process with a bunch of other girls, I made a friend in my roommate at the hotel. She wasn’t up there to test or for the exam, but she was signing her papers that day. She’s in the National Guard and going in as an MP. Her ship date for basic is in September. I found her on Facebook, added her, wished her luck and said if she was ever in the Fayetteville area and needed a place to stay she was welcome to hit me up. There was also a guy there doing his hearing test again who was signing up for active Air Force. He mentioned that he wanted to do something mechanical so I told him to go for Aircraft Structural Maintenance. Told him I had a buddy stationed in Okinawa with that AFSC who loved it. I didn’t get to stick around and see what job he picked, but I like to think that he considered the option I gave him because of what I told him.

13) Do A Dummy Check Before Everything. Twice.
When I left my house, I went through a mental list of the things I needed. Before I left my room I did the same thing but included the things I needed to do before processing, but I only did each check twice. What happened? Well I forgot my phone charger at home. Luckily my roommates alarm woke me up (I turned my phone off overnight to save some battery because I had to call my job in the morning) and I drove up there so I was able to leave my phone charging in my car while I processed, but if it hadn’t been for that I’d have been screwed. Before I left my room, I made sure I removed my necklace and my earrings but completely forgot about the chainmaille bracelet I’d been wearing for the past year plus, so while I was waiting to check in to take my ASVAB one of the other guys waiting asked me if they’d let me keep it on because I clearly couldn’t take it off. I freaked for half a second because I didn’t have my pliers to pry the rings open, but then realized they were aluminum rings that I could easily bend and remove by myself. Crisis averted. But if he hadn’t said anything I likely would have been reamed a new one.

14) Keep A Good Attitude About Everything.
Even when I found out I had been sitting outside the liaisons office for two hours for no reason (watching She’s The Man with Amanda Bynes in it… horrible, horrible movie…), I kept a good mood about everything and it made the process that much more enjoyable. It’s already a pretty awful experience so there’s no need to make it worse. I was joking with the staff the entire time and I think they really appreciated it as well.

Really, number fourteen ties back into number eight but it’s an important thing to remember, so I’ll put it in here twice. And it really applies to everything in life. If you’re not having fun doing something, what’s the point in doing it? I try to look at the bright side of it all so that I don’t look at it so negatively. Ain’t no body got time for that.

Leave a Reply

